Kassidy’s Inventory and Reflection

The Books That Built Me

            As far back as I can remember, reading has been an integral part of who I am. Throughout my life books have been a constant; a means to learn about new places, ideas, and beliefs. Reading has taught me to be more open-minded, to examine differing viewpoints, and has exposed me to worlds that I may have otherwise never experienced.

            The first book that profoundly impacted me was Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stoneby J.K. Rowling. This fantasy series blew my ten-year-old mind, largely due to the detail and intricacy that Rowling included in the story. Before reading Harry Potter, I had mostly read Children’s Literature, which while entertaining, never caused me to think about the story once I finished the book. For months after I finished the series, I thought about what was happening in the world that Rowling had created. Because each character in the series was so dynamic and unique, the books really appealed to me on a mimetic level. Harry, Ron and Hermione began to feel like friends due to their realistic qualities and allowed me to invest in a world created by an author as I never had before. My reading of theHarry Potter series was really the beginning of the end when it came to me finding fulfilment and entertainment through Children’s Literature. Rowling made me feel emotions that books I had previously read had never managed to evoke. Harry Potterwas the first series that showed me how well-crafted stories and characters can stick with the reader for a lifetime.

            The next book which challenged me to grow as a reader was And I Don’t Want to Live This Life by Deborah Spungen. This memoir focuses on the troubled life and subsequent murder of her daughter, Nancy Spungen. This was the first truly dark book I read, and it provided me with a much deeper understanding of mental illness, substance abuse, and grief. This book forced me to grow not only as a reader, but also as a person. When I read the book for the first time at age eleven, I did not have a firm understanding of a lot of the thematic dimensions being discussed within the writing, such as schizophrenia, anti-depressants, and intense violence. This memoir challenged my understanding and taught me how to research ideas that I was unfamiliar with in order to better understand the text that I was consuming. Prior to my reading this memoir, I had largely read books written for children my age, and consequently tended to be familiar with the themes being discussed within them. However, during and following my reading of Spungen’s memoir, I began to understand the importance of doing research on portions of texts that I do not understand.

            Sweetbitter, written by Stephanie Danler, is the third book that had a titanic impact on how I read, wrote, and saw the world. This book follows Tess, a naïve twenty-two year-old, as she moves to New York City and comes of age in the restaurant business. This book encompasses the thematic dimensions of sex, drugs, heartbreak, and personal growth wrapped up into a simultaneously gritty and enchanting package. This book was the first piece of modern literary fiction that I had experienced and probably more than any book I have read before or since, it changed the way I viewed the world. This book was something I wished I myself had written and was created with a style and skill I dreamed I would one day be able to emulate. Prior to reading this novel, I had read, loved and appreciated phenomenal books, but this was the first time I had been completely enraptured and deeply moved by a piece of writing. If I had never read this novel, I am not sure I would be a Writing Arts major today. Through her exquisite writing, Danler showed me how deeply well-written novels can impact people and inspired me to one day write something that moves people and inspires their dreams of writing in the same way her work did for me. Danler taught me to read not just for long-lasting entertainment, but also for long-lasting inspiration.

            Mouthful of Forevers, a book of poetry written by Clementine von Radics, was another text that helped me to develop as a reader and writer. This was the first poetry book that I really connected with, and it brought me a new appreciation of the synthetic elements that poets must utilize in order to make their words flow so gracefully. This collection of poetry taught me a lot about the way line breaks are used, what is implied but not overtly said and the beauty of metaphors. As a writer, this book encouraged me to begin experimenting with writing poetry myself and as a reader the emotion I felt after consuming the text inspired me to search for those feelings over and over in other books of poetry.

            The last book on my list, Where the Crawdads Sing,by Delia Owens, follows the life of Kya, who was abandoned in the marsh by her family as a young girl. She lives in the marsh all of her life, remaining an outcast, but eventually becomes entangled in a surrounding town’s drama when a body is found near her marsh-dwelling. This work of literary fiction impacted me greatly, largely because it was a book that I thought I would be entirely disinterested in from the start, being that it involves a great deal of nature and crime. However, this book taught me to be more open to different themes and plots in books, and that sometimes when you step out of your comfort zone you will discover a wonderful story. After finishing this book, what I read for did not necessarily change, but it did expand. I began to search more for novels that were outside the realm of what I was comfortable with and used to – novels that were beautifully and flawlessly woven, novels that didn’t lag in the middle or depend on shock value to keep the reader interested, but rather used strong dialogue, vividly real and emotional descriptions, and three-dimensional, ever changing and evolving characters. Lastly, I began to look for books with the overarching thematic dimensions of growth, loneliness and raw human emotion, all of which were displayed wonderfully in Owens’ novel.

            More than anything, I believe that my love of stories has shaped me into the reader I am today. I have always had a tendency to get swept up into the world of an author, often sacrificing sleep to stay up until the early hours of the morning to find out what happens to my latest beloved character. I became the reader I am today by being open to new genres, prose styles, and recommendations from friends, family, and of course Reese Witherspoon’s book club. I try my best to approach each text that I read an open mind and absorb what the author is trying to get across on a meaningful level. I may not always get it right on the first try, but by being willing to mull over authors’ ideas, as well as reread passages and texts that I don’t understand, I have found that more often than not I’m able to find meaning within the pages of a text. I would like to think that my dominant readerly role today is that of a critical reader, not in the sense of picking the author’s work apart, but in that I aim to combine the experience of the novel, the themes contained within it, and the way the actual words and phrases are strung together in hopes of discovering a new and unique viewpoint.

Books I’ve Read:

Elementary School:

Children’s Poetry:

Where the Sidewalk Ends – Shel Silverstein – Synthetic

Falling Up – Shel Silverstein – Synthetic

Children’s Literature:

The Giving Tree – Shel Silverstein – Mimetic

Heidi – Johanna Spyri – Mimetic

Black Beauty – Anna Sewell – Mimetic

Beezus and Ramona – Beverly Cleary – Mimetic

Ramona Quimby, Age 8 – Beverly Cleary – Mimetic

Ramona the Brave – Beverly Cleary – Mimetic

Ramona Forever – Beverly Cleary – Mimetic

Henry and Beezus – Beverly Cleary – Mimetic

Charlotte’s Web – E.B. White – Mimetic

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Ronald Dahl – Mimetic

Anne of Green Gables – Lucy Maud Montgomery – Mimetic

The Boxcar Children – Gertrude Chandler Warner – Mimetic

Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing – Judy Blume – Mimetic

Super Fudge – Judy Blume – Mimetic

Otherwise Known as Sheila the Great – Judy Blume – Mimetic

Iggie’s House – Judy Blume – Mimetic

Double Fudge – Judy Blume – Mimetic

Here Today – Ann M. Martin – Mimetic

Children’s Fiction:

The Junie B. Jones Series – Barbara Park – Mimetic

Crash – Jerry Spinelli – Mimetic

Vet Volunteers Series – Laurie Halse Anderson –Mimetic

The Babysitter’s Club Series – Ann M. Martin – Mimetic

Stargirl – Jerry Spinelli – Mimetic

So ‘B’ It – Sarah Weeks – Mimetic

Holes – Louis Sachar – Mimetic

Fantasy:

The Magic Treehouse Series – Mary Pope Osborne – Mimetic

Princess Academy – Shannon Hale – Mimetic

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – J.K. Rowling – Mimetic  

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – J.K. Rowling – Mimetic 

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – J.K. Rowling – Mimetic 

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J.K. Rowling – Mimetic 

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – J.K. Rowling – Mimetic 

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince – J.K. Rowling – Mimetic 

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – J.K. Rowling – Mimetic 

The Tales of the Beetle and the Bard – J.K. Rowling – Mimetic 

Twilight – Stephanie Meyer – Mimetic 

New Moon – Stephanie Meyer – Mimetic 

Eclipse – Stephanie Meyer – Mimetic 

Breaking Dawn – Stephanie Meyer – Mimetic 

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner – Stephanie Meyer – Mimetic 

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightening Thief – Rick Riordan – Mimetic 

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Sea of Monsters – Rick Riordan – Mimetic 

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Titan’s Curse – Rick Riordan – Mimetic 

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Battle of the Labyrinth – Rick Riordan – Mimetic

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Last Olympian – Rick Riordan – Mimetic 

Biography/Autobiography:

Yes, We Can – Garen Thomas – Thematic

Miles to Go – Miley Cyrus – Thematic

The Diary of Ann Frank – Ann Frank – Thematic 

Historical Young Adult Fiction:

Bud Not Buddy – Christopher Paul Curtis – Thematic 

Number the Stars – Lois Lowry – Thematic 

The Watson’s Go to Birmingham – Christopher Paul Curtis – Thematic 

Science Fiction:

The City of Ember – Jeanne DePrau – Mimetic 

The People of Sparks – Jeanne DePrau – Mimetic 

The Prophet of Yonwood – Jeanne DePrau – Mimetic 

The Diamond of Darkhold – Jeanne DePrau – Mimetic 

Young Adult Fiction:

Blubber – Judy Blume – Mimetic 

Then Again, Maybe I Won’t – Judy Blume – Mimetic 

It’s Not the End of the World – Judy Blume – Mimetic 

Just as Long as We’re Together – Judy Blume – Mimetic 

Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret – Judy Blume – Mimetic 

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants – Ann Brashares – Mimetic 

The Second Summer of the Sisterhood – Ann Brashares – Mimetic 

Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood – Ann Brashares – Mimetic 

Forever in Blue: The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood – Ann Brashares – Mimetic 

Guitar Girl – Sarra Manning – Mimetic 

I was a Non-Blonde Cheerleader – Kate Brian – Mimetic 

Brunettes Strike Back – Kate Brian – Mimetic 

All American Girl – Meg Cabot – Mimetic 

Teen Idol – Meg Cabot – Mimetic 

Twisted – Laurie Halse Anderson – Mimetic 

Catalyst – Laurie Halse Anderson – Mimetic 

Prom – Laurie Halse Anderson – Mimetic 

Middle School:

Christian Fiction:

Christy Miller Series Vol. 1 – Robin Jones Gunn – Mimetic 

Christy Miller Series Vol. 2 – Robin Jones Gunn – Mimetic 

Christy Miller Series Vol. 3 – Robin Jones Gunn – Mimetic 

Christy & Todd: The College Years – Robin Jones Gunn – Mimetic 

Romance:

The Notebook – Nicholas Sparks – Mimetic 

Dear John – Nicholas Sparks – Mimetic 

The Last Song – Nicholas Sparks – Mimetic 

A Walk to Remember – Nicholas Sparks – Mimetic 

Nothing Left to Lose – Kirsty Moseley – Mimetic 

Enjoying the Chase – Kirsty Moseley – Mimetic 

The Lucky One – Nicholas Sparks – Mimetic 

Just One Day – Gayle Forman – Mimetic 

Fantasy:

Blue Bloods – Melissa de la Cruz – Mimetic 

Masquerade – Melissa de la Cruz – Mimetic 

Revelations – Melissa de la Cruz – Mimetic 

Forgive My Fins – Tera Lynn Childs – Mimetic 

Beautiful Disaster – Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl – Mimetic 

Beautiful Creatures – Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl – Mimetic 

Beautiful Darkness – Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl – Mimetic 

Beautiful Chaos – Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl – Mimetic 

Beautiful Redemption – Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl – Mimetic 

Shiver – Maggie Stiefvater – Mimetic 

Linger – Maggie Stiefvater – Mimetic 

Forever – Maggie Stiefvater – Mimetic 

Tiger Lily – Jodi Lynn Anderson – Mimetic 

Young Adult Fiction:

When Molly was a Harvey Girl – Frances M. Wood – Mimetic 

Moon Glass – Jessi Kirby – Mimetic 

What My Mother Doesn’t Know – Sonya Sones – Synthetic 

One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies – Sonya Sones – Synthetic 

What My Girlfriend Doesn’t Know – Sonya Sones – Synthetic 

The Clique – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Best Friends for Never – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Revenge of the Wannabees – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Invasion of the Boy Snatchers – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

The Pretty Committee Strikes Back – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Dial L for Loser – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

It’s Not Easy Being Mean – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Sealed with a Diss – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Bratfest at Tiffany’s – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

P.S. I Loathe You – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Boys R Us – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Charmed and Dangerous: The Rise of the Pretty Committee – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

These Boots are Made for Stalking – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

My Little Phony – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

A Tale of Two Pretties – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Alphas – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Movers & Fakers – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Belle of the Brawl – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Top of the Feud Chain – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Monster High – Lisi Harrison – Mimetic 

Secrets of My Hollywood Life – Jen Calonita – Mimetic 

Secrets of My Hollywood Life: On Location – Jen Calonita – Mimetic 

Secrets of My Hollywood Life: Family Affairs – Jen Calonita – Mimetic 

Secrets of My Hollywood Life: Paparazzi Princess – Jen Calonita – Mimetic 

Secrets of My Hollywood Life: Broadway Lights – Jen Calonita – Mimetic 

Secrets of My Hollywood Life: There’s No Place Like Home – Jen Calonita – Mimetic 

Cut – Patricia McCormick – Thematic 

After – Amy Efaw – Thematic

If I Stay – Gayle Forman – Mimetic 

Where She Went – Gayle Forman – Mimetic 

Something Like Normal – Trish Doller – Mimetic 

North of Beautiful – Justina Chen – Mimetic 

Hatchet – Gary Paulsen – Mimeric 

L.A. Candy – Lauren Conrad – Mimetic 

Sweet Little Lies – Lauren Conrad – Mimetic 

Sugar and Spice – Lauren Conrad – Mimetic 

Two Way Street – Lauren Barnholdt – Mimetic 

One Night Can Change Everything – Lauren Barnholdt – Mimetic 

I’d Tell You I Love You, but then I’d Have to Kill You – Ally Carter – Mimetic 

Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy – Ally Carter – Mimetic 

Don’t Judge a Girl by Her Cover – Ally Carter – Mimetic 

Only the Good Spy Young – Ally Carter – Mimetic 

Out of Sight, Out of Time – Ally Carter – Mimetic 

United We Spy – Ally Carter – Mimetic 

Prep – Curtis Sittenfeld – Mimetic 

Duff – Kody Keplinger – Mimetic

Watch Me – Lauren Barnholdt – Mimetic 

Aubrey, Wait! – Robin Benway – Mimetic

Where it Began – Ann Redisch Stampler – Mimetic 

When You Were Mine – Rebecca Serle – Mimetic 

Main Squeeze – Weston Parker – Mimetic 

Troy High – Shana Norris – Thematic 

13 Reasons Why – Jay Asher – Thematic 

Dreamland – Sarah Dessen – Mimetic 

Lock and Key – Sarah Dessen – Mimetic 

The Moon and More – Sarah Dessen – Mimetic 

How to Deal – Sarah Dessen – Mimetic 

This Lullaby – Sarah Dessen – Mimetic 

Along for the Ride – Sarah Dessen – Mimetic 

What Happened to Goodbye – Sarah Dessen – Mimetic 

Just Listen – Sarah Dessen – Mimetic 

Saint Anything – Sarah Dessen – Mimetic 

Keeping the Moon – Sarah Dessen – Mimetic 

The Future of Us – Jay Asher – Thematic 

Go Ask Alice – Beatrice Sparks – Thematic 

How to Love – Katie Cotugno – Mimetic 

Crank – Ellen Hopkins – Synthetic

Glass – Ellen Hopkins – Synthetic

Burned – Ellen Hopkins – Synthetic 

Perfect – Ellen Hopkins – Sythetic

Impulse – Ellen Hopkins – Synthetic 

Identical – Ellen Hopkins – Synthetic 

Tricks – Ellen Hopkins – Synthetic

Fallout – Ellen Hopkins – Synthetic 

Smoke – Ellen Hopkins – Synthetic 

Hate List – Jennifer Brown – Thematic 

Struck by Lightning – Chris Colfer – Mimetic 

Clean – Amy Reed – Mimetic 

Beautiful – Amy Reed – Mimetic 

Crazy – Amy Reed – Mimetic 

Speak – Laurie Halse Anderson – Thematic 

Before I Fall – Lauren Oliver – Mimetic 

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han – Mimetic 

Lucy in the Sky – Anonymous – Thematic 

Time Between Us – Tamara Ireland Stone – Mimetic 

Time After Time – Tamara Ireland Stone – Mimetic 

Looking for Alaska – John Green – Mimetic 

Paper Towns – John Green – Mimetic 

Young Adult Romance:

My Life Next Door – Huntley Fitzpatrick – Mimetic 

When the Stars Go Blue – Alyson Noel – Mimetic 

The Summer I Turned Pretty – Jenny Han – Mimetic 

It’s Not Summer Without You – Jenny Han – Mimetic 

We’ll Always Have Summer – Jenny Han – Mimetic 

Autobiography:

Alicia: My Story – Alicia Appleman-Jurman – Thematic 

Bossy Pants – Tina Fey – Mimetic 

An Unbearable Lightness – Portia de Rossi – Thematic 

And I Don’t Want to Live This Life – Deborah Spungen – Thematic 

Winning Balance – Shawn Johnson – Mimetic 

Literary Fiction:

The Pearl – John Steinbeck – Thematic 

The Old Man and the Sea – Ernest Hemingway – Thematic 

Science Fiction:

Uglies – Scott Westerfeld – Mimetic 

Pretties – Scott Westerfeld – Mimetic 

Specials – Scott Westerfeld – Mimetic 

Extras – Scott Westefeld – Mimetic 

Matched – Ally Condie – Mimetic 

War of the Worlds – H.G. Wells – Mimetic 

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams and Eoin Colfer – Mimetic 

Fiction:

Skinny – Ibi Kaslik – Thematic 

Wintergirls – Laurie Halse Anderson – Thematic 

Sleepwalking in Daylight – Elizabeth Flock – Mimetic 

A Partisan’s Daughter – Louis de Bernieres – Mimetic 

13 Little Blue Envelopes – Maureen Johnson – Mimetic 

The Last Little Blue Envelope – Maureen Johnson – Mimetic 

Young Adult Mystery/Mystery:

Pretty Little Liars – Sara Shepard – Mimetic 

Flawless – Sara Shepard – Mimetic 

Perfect – Sara Shepard – Mimetic 

Unbelievable – Sara Shepard – Mimetic 

Wicked – Sara Shepard – Mimetic 

Spoiled – Sara Shepard – Mimetic 

Messy – Sara Shepard – Mimetic 

And Then There Were None – Agatha Christi – Mimetic 

Jane – April Lindner – Thematic 

Children’s Non-Fiction Literature:

Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes – Eleanor Coerr – Thematic 

Tragedy:

The Crucible – Arthur Miller – Thematic 

Magical Realism:

Elsewhere – Gabrielle Zevin – Mimetic 

High School:

Fiction:

My Sister’s Keeper – Jodi Picoult – Mimetic 

The Secret Life of Bees – Sue Monk Kidd – Mimetic 

One Flew Over the Cuckoos’ Nest – Ken Kesey – Thematic 

Science Fiction:

Frankenstein – Mary Shelley – Thematic 

Literary Fiction:

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee – Thematic 

The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald – Thematic 

A Separate Peace – John Knowles – Thematic 

The Bean Trees – Barbara Kingsolver – Thematic 

The Catcher and the Rye – J.D. Salinger – Thematic 

Sweet Bitter – Stephanie Danler – Thematic 

Young Adult Fiction:

The Outsiders – S.E. Hinton – Themamtic 

Sisterhood Everlasting – Ann Brashares – Mimetic 

Park & Eleanor – Rainbow Rowell – Mimetic 

Fan Girl – Rainbow Rowell – Mimetic 

Bleed Like Me – Christa Desir – Mimetic 

An Abundance of Katherines – John Green – Mimetic 

Will Greyson, Will Greyson – John Green – Mimetic 

The Fault in Our Stars – John Green – Mimetic 

Let It Snow – John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle – Mimetic 

Tell the Wolves I’m Home – Carol Rifka Brunt – Mimetic 

Autobiography/Biography/Memoir:

October Sky – Homer Hickam — Thematic

Killing Kennedy – Bill O’Reilly – Thematic 

Killing Lincoln – Bill O’Reilly – Thematic 

Killing Reagan – Bill O’Reilly – Thematic 

Becoming Jazz – Jazz Jennings – Mimetic 

This Boy’s Life – Tobias Wolff – Thematic 

Diary of an Oxygen Thief – NLVI – Mimetic 

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks – Rebecca Skloot – Thematic 

Almost a Woman – Esmerelda Santiago – Thematic 

Neil Patrick Harris – Choose Your Own Autobiography – Neil Patrick Harris – Mimetic 

Romance:

The Vow – Stuart Sender – Mimetic 

Safe Haven – Nicholas Sparks – Mimetic 

The Longest Ride – Nicholas Sparks – Mimetic 

Love, Rosie – Juliette Towhidi – Mimetic 

Me Before You – Jojo Moyes – Mimetic 

After You – Jojo Moyes – Mimetic 

Groupie – Ginger Voight – Mimetic 

Rockstar – Ginger Voight – Mimetic 

Mogul – Ginger Voight – Mimetic 

Poetry:

Love and Other Misadventure – Lang Leav – Synthetic 

Epistolary Fiction:

The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky – Thematic 

The Color Purple – Alice Walker – Thematic 

Autobiographical Novel:

The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath – Thematic 

Historical Fiction:

The Wives of King David: Michal – Jill Eileen Smith – Mimetic 

The Wives of King David: Abigail – Jill Eileen Smith – Mimetic 

The Wives of King David: Bathsheba – Jill Eileen Smith – Mimetic 

The Things They Carried – Tim O’Brien – Thematic 

Postcards from No Man’s Land – Aidan Chambers – Mimetic 

One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich – Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn – Thematic 

Tragedy/Drama:

Romeo and Juliet – William Shakespeare – Synthetic 

Macbeth – William Shakespeare – Synthetic

Hamlet – William Shakespeare – Synthetic 

The Tempest – William Shakespeare – Synthetic 

College:

Thriller/Suspense:

19 Minutes – Jodi Picoult – Thriller – Mimetic 

The Good Girl – Mary Kubica – Suspense/Thriller – Mimetic 

Biography/Autobiography/Memoir:

Becoming – Michelle Obama – Thematic 

The End of Normal – Stephanie Madoff Mack – Thematic 

Sister’s First: Stories from Our Wild and Wonderful Life – Barbara Bush and Jenna Hager Bush – Thematic  

Tuesday’s with Morrie – Mitch Albom – Thematic 

These Few Precious Days: The Final Year of Jack and Jackie – Christopher Andersen – Thematic 

Poetry:

Mouthful of Forevers – Clementine von Radics – Synthetic 

I Love My Love – Reyna Biddy – Synthetic 

The Princess Saves Herself in this One – Amanda Lovelace – Synthetic 

Milk and Honey – Rupi Kaur – Synthetic 

The Sun and Her Flowers – Rupi Kaur – Synthetic 

I Wrote This for You – Iain S. Thomas – Synthetic 

Beautiful Chaos – R.M. Drake – Synthetic 

Home – Clementine von Radics – Synthetic 

Eighteen Years – Madisen Kuhn – Synthetic 

We Were Young – Fortesa Latifi – Synthetic 

In a Dream I Saw a Way to Survive – Clementine von Radics – Synthetic 

Contemporary Romance/Romance:

Call Me by Your Name – Andre Aciman – Thematic 

Rule – Jay Crownover – Mimetic 

Jet – Jay Crownover – Mimetic 

Rome – Jay Crownover – Mimetic 

Nash – Jay Crownover – Mimetic 

Rowdy – Jay Crownover – Mimetic 

Asa – Jay Crownover – Mimetic 

Built – Jay Crownover – Mimetic 

After – Anna Todd – Mimetic 

After We Collided – Anna Todd – Mimetic 

After We Fell – Anna Todd – Mimetic 

After Ever Happy – Anna Todd – Mimetic 

The Light We Lost – Jill Santopolo – Thematic 

One Day in December – Josie Silver – Mimetic 

The Proposal – Jasmine Guillory – Mimetic 

The Wedding Party – Jasmine Guillory – Mimetic 

Literary Fiction:

This is How You Lose Her – Junot Diaz – Thematic 

Where the Crawdads Sing – Delia Owens – Thematic 

This Is How It Always Is – Laurie Frankel – Thematic 

Concrete Fever – Nathaniel Kressen – Thematic 

The Sun Also Rises – Ernest Hemingway – Thematic 

The Shortest Way Home – Miriam Parker – Thematic 

In the Midst of Winter – Isabel Allende – Thematic 

Fiction:

The Scandalous Summer of Sissy LeBlanc – Loraine Despres – Mimetic 

Reconstructing Amelia – Kimberly McCreight – Mimetic 

All We Ever Wanted – Emily Giffin – Mimetic 

The Last Time I Saw You – Eleanor Moran – Mimetic 

First Comes Love – Emily Giffin – Mimetic 

Young Adult Fiction:

The Sun is Also a Star – Tracy Oliver – Mimetic 

Historical Fiction:

Lilac Girls – Martha Hall Kelly – Mimetic 

The Alice Network – Kate Quinn – Mimetic 

Next Year in Havana – Chanel Cleeton – Thematic

When We Left Cuba – Chanel Cleeton – Thematic 

I was Anastasia – Ariel Lawhon – Thematic 

The Paris Seamstress – Natasha Lester – Mimetic 

City of Girls – Elizabeth Gilbert – Mimetic 

Categories Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close